Bale, Muirhead, Ferdinand: Sports stars celebrated in Queen's Birthday Honours

Olympic gold medalist Eve Muirhead and former footballer Rio Ferdinand are among the 48 sportspeople to be named in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list.

The two have been made OBEs, alongside cricketer Moeen Ali and Paralympic cycling married couple Lora and Neil Fachie.

Presenter Clare Balding and former sports minister Tracey Crouch have both been made CBEs, while footballers including James Milner and Gareth Bale become MBEs.

Olympic and Paralympic success

OBE-honoured Muirhead and her rink won Great Britain’s only gold medal at the 2022 Winter Olympics. Her teammates Vicky Wright, Jen Dodds, Hailey Duff and Mili Smith have all become MBEs, along with coach David Murdoch.

Husband and wife Neil and Lora Fachie both won Paralympic cycling gold in Tokyo last year. Lora and pilot Corinne Hall, who has also been made an OBE, retained their B 3,000m pursuit from Rio 2016, securing back-to-back gold medals.

Gaz Choudhry, a Paralympic bronze medal winner in wheelchair basketball, and Sammi Kinghorn, a Paralympic silver and bronze medalist in wheelchair racing, have both received MBEs.

Georgina Harland is named an MBE after becoming the first female chef de mission of the British Olympic Association for the Winter Olympics.

Britain women's curling team
BEIJING, CHINA – FEBRUARY 20: (L-R) Curlers Milli Smith, Hailey Duff, Jennifer Dodds, Vicky Wright and Eve Muirhead of Team Great Britain pose for pictures after winning the Gold Medal in the Women’s Curling against Team Japan at National Aquatics Centre on February 20, 2022 in Beijing, China. (Photo by Lintao Zhang/Getty Images)

Honours in cricket

Moeen becomes an OBE as his career is celebrated following his decision to retire from Test cricket in September last year.

During his seven years in Test, the England international racked up a batting average of 28.29 and a bowling average of 36.66. Mooen is ranked third among English spin bowlers.

The 34-year-old was part of the 2015 Ashes winning side and helped England win the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

Alongside Mooen, chief executive of Glamorgan County Cricket Club Hugh Morris and chief medical officer of England and Wales Cricket Board Nicholas Peirce become OBEs for their services to cricket and charity, and sport during Covid-19 respectively.

BRIDGETOWN, BARBADOS – JANUARY 21: Moeen Ali of England during a nets session at Kensington Oval on January 21, 2022 in Bridgetown, Barbados. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

Football stars honoured

Joining Ferdinand on the 2022 OBE honours list is Mike Summerbee and Luther Blissett, who played for Manchester City and Watford respectively.

Wales captain Bale won a fifth Champions League title with Real Madrid last weekend and recently enjoyed a loan spell with former club Tottenham Hotspur. He joins Milner on the list of MBEs, as well as Hibernian goalkeeper Alan Rough.

Milner has helped Liverpool win the Premier League, Champions League, and most recently the FA Cup.

Chief executive of the League Managers’ Association Richard Bevan has been made an OBE for his services to the sport.

PARIS, FRANCE – MAY 28: Gareth Bale of Real Madrid reacts following their sides victory in the UEFA Champions League final match between Liverpool FC and Real Madrid at Stade de France on May 28, 2022 in Paris, France. (Photo by Catherine Ivill/Getty Images)

Full list of Birthday Honours

The 2022 honours list marks the Queen’s Jubilee Birthday milestone, celebrating 70 years of service.

Here’s the full list of athletes and sports personalities to be honoured this year.

Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Clare Balding (broadcaster), for services to sport and charity

Tracey Crouch (former sports minister), for parliamentary and public service

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Moeen Ali (cricketer), for services to cricket

Richard Harrison Bevan (chief executive of League Managers Association), for services to football

Luther Loide Blissett (ex-footballer and patron, Sporting Memories), for services to football and to charity

Lora Marie Fachie (cyclist), for services to cycling

Neil Michael Fachie (cyclist), for services to cycling

Rio Gavin Ferdinand (pundit and ex-footballer), for services to football and to charity

David Peter Hadfield (president, Boccia International Sports Federation), for services to sport

Corinne Claire Hall (cyclist), for services to cycling

Hugh Morris (chief executive, Glamorgan County Cricket Club), for services to cricket and to charity

Eve Muirhead (skip, British Olympic Curling Team), for services to curling

Sean O’Loughlin (rugby league player), for services to rugby league

Professor Nicholas Sheridan Peirce, (chief medical officer, England and Wales Cricket Board), for services to sport during Covid-19

Michael Summerbee (ex-footballer), for services to football and to charity

Karen Margaret Tonge (chair, Para Table Tennis), for services to table tennis

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Gareth Frank Bale (footballer), for services to football and to charity

Ghazain Choudhury (wheelchair basketballer), for services to wheelchair basketball

Jennifer Carmichael Dodds (curler), for services to curling

Hailey Caitlin Rose Duff (curler), for services to curling

William Robert Leckie Duncan (curler), for services to curling and to charity

Thomas Scott Dyson (chief coach, Paralympic Pathway, British Rowing), for services to Paralympic rowing

Gary Kenneth Hall (Performance Director, British Taekwondo), for services to taekwondo

Benjamin Robert Hawes (chair, Athletes Commission, British Olympic Association), for services to sport

Elizabeth Ellen Hughes (director of special projects, Sport England), for services to sport during Covid-19

Samantha May Kinghorn (para-athlete), for services to disability sport

Shirley McCay (hockey player), for services to hockey and to the community in Northern Ireland

Hannah Lousie Miley (swimmer), for services to swimming and to women in sport

Dr Ian Stuart Miller (lately chief medical officer, British Paralympic Association), for services to Paralympic Sport

James Philip Milner (footballer), for services to football and charity

David Matthew Murdoch (head coach, British Curling Team), for services to curling

Verity Leigh Naylor (director of operations, British Paralympic Association), for services to Paralympic sport

Alan Rough (ex-footballer), for services to football and to charity in Scotland

Eilish Rutherford (para-hockey player), for services to sport and to charity in Northern Ireland

Andrew Peter Ryan (executive director, Association of Summer Olympic International Federations), for services to sport

Douglas Gordon Samuel, (lately chief executive officer, Spartans Community Football Academy). For services to Association Football and to the community in North Edinburgh

Georgina Claire Seccombe (Harland) (chef de mission, Team GB, Olympic Games 2021), for services to Olympic sport

Mark Selby (snooker player), for services to snooker and to charity

Neil Douglas Hamilton Simpson (para-alpine skier), for services to skiing

Andrew William Ramsay Simpson (para-alpine skier), for services to skiing

Mili Smith (curler), for services to curling

Stephen Connell Stewart (director of sport and exercise, University of St Andrews), for services to sport

Judd Trump (snooker), for services to snooker and to charity

Anwar Uddin, (Fans For Diversity campaign manager, The Football Supporters’ Association), for services to association football

Georgina Astrid Usher, (British Fencing chief executive), for services to fencing (London)

Tracy Whittaker-Smith (head national coach, Trampoline, British Gymnastics), for services to trampolining

David Brynmor Williams (ex-rugby union player), for services to sport and to charity in Wales

Victoria Wright (curler), for services to curling

News Now - Sport News